Peaceful… like Devon on a Sunday

Are you supposed to apologise when you don’t update your ‘blog for a couple of days?  Actually, I’d imagine that would be a tad conceited, believing that there were lots of people waiting for my latest piece of writing instead of the realistic estimate of a handful of people who have read everything so far!  So, no apologies, but I will offer an explanation – I’ve just spent a rather nice weekend in a hotel in Okehampton, Devon with the family but, unfortunately, it had no internet access apart from an inconvenient Wi-Fi room.  It was a very “sporty” hotel, so there was always something much better to do than to sit in a dull room with a laptop, anyway.  Things like bowling, archery, shooting and swimming, for example.  Four year old Charlie had a wonderful time swimming for the first time in her life, even though she had to stay in the “kidney” pool.  I think she meant “kiddie” pool, but I much preferred her version.

It’s a long way to go for the weekend, Brighton to Devon.  However, it was my fiancée’s Grandmother’s 80th birthday (although she could easily pass for twenty years younger), so nearly all of her Mum’s side of the family were there, gathered in honour of the great lady’s special day to celebrate.  A bit nerve-racking really, meeting all of the future in-laws all in one hit, but (thankfully) they were a fantastic bunch of people and didn’t seem to dislike me too much.  The journey there wasn’t bad at all (by train, naturally), but the journey back was arduous, thanks to overrunning engineering work between Reading and Wokingham.  Plus, it was bloody freezing, so we were all very glad to finally get home.

Oddly enough, you can’t get to Okehampton by train – it has a station, but it only has a service on certain weekends in the Summer.  Not much use in late November, really.  This meant lifts and taxis to and from Exeter, which wasn’t much fun with carsick kids.  Although the meals at the hotel were pretty good and each one was heartily enjoyed, I wasn’t exactly delighted to see Bethany’s again a few hours later when I had to clean it off the train’s carpet.  Ah, the joys of being a (future step-)parent!

Anyway, that’s what I’ve been up to this weekend.  Sorry if this ‘blog entry has been a little boring, but I thought I’d document what I’ve been up to.  Join me tomorrow when I’ll talk about something a little more exotic.  Like watering cans in hollandaise sauce.  Or not.  I haven’t decided yet.

About A.D.S.

You are reading the musings of a music-obsessed forty-something who was brought up on The Beatles, lived through Britpop and now spends his time in pursuit of the best music around. This 'blog gives me an outlet to write about the huge number of albums I buy and the many gigs I go to. All of the opinions expressed are my own and if you don't agree with me, then I understand - music is a very personal thing. I like to receive comments, especially if they're nice ones.
This entry was posted in Day-to-day life, Family, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Peaceful… like Devon on a Sunday

  1. mrsb123 says:

    Well, I think you coped with us all brilliantly, and I feel so lucky that all my relations have chosen such lovely people to share their lives with! I really enjoyed the weekend, and the children were a credit to you and Corinne. Keep blogging, Mr Wordsmith, it does make me smile!

Leave a Reply

