Are you paying too much for your gas and electricity?

Just as Michael was about to take his dinner into the dining room, he spied something in the corner of his eye running across the tiled kitchen floor. He quickly put his plate down on one of the kitchen surfaces and went to take a closer look – it was a cockroach. Michael lifted up his shoe and was just about to crush the creature when he heard a little voice yelling, “Stop!”

Michael stepped back and blinked in astonishment. He asked the cockroach, “Did you just speak to me?” The cockroach nodded his little head. “Yes, that’s right – I can talk”, he squeaked, “and I was wondering – can I ask you a question?”

Completely astounded, nodding his head just a little was as much as Michael could muster.

“I was wondering – who is your provider for electricity and gas?” the cockroach asked. “You see, I’m positive that we could save you at least 15% on your combined monthly duel fuel energy bills if you switch to us!”

“What!?!” spluttered Michael. “You’re a cockroach – are you seriously trying to sell me cheaper fuel bills?”

“Sorry”, retorted the cockroach apologetically, “but old habits die hard. You see, there is such a thing as reincarnation and, believe it or not, in my previous life I used to be one of those annoying bastards who would cold-call people just as they’re sitting down for dinner.”

“And you’ve come back as a cockroach?” exclaimed Michael.

“I know!” remarked the cockroach, with a huge grin. “What did I do to deserve such a brilliant promotion?  I’m hoping to come back as a rat next!”

About A.D.S.

You are reading the musings of a music-obsessed forty-something who was brought up on The Beatles, lived through Britpop and now spends his time in pursuit of the best music around. This 'blog gives me an outlet to write about the huge number of albums I buy and the many gigs I go to. All of the opinions expressed are my own and if you don't agree with me, then I understand - music is a very personal thing. I like to receive comments, especially if they're nice ones.
This entry was posted in Humour and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

